Halifax, Calgary and Vancouver events on the eves of the Movie Nights in Canada

On the eves of the Movie Nights Across Canada events in Halifax, Calgary and Vancouver, members of the Talent Fund Advisory Committee, along with Telefilm Micro-Budget recipients and such high-profile Canadian onscreen talent as Cathy Jones (This Hour Has 22 Minutes), Amber Marshall (Heartland), Shaun Johnson (Heartland), Amanda Brugel (The Handmaid’s Tale) and Carrie-Anne Moss came together to toast the importance of Canadian film.

Hosted by Margaret Anne Fountain in Halifax, Ann McCaig in Calgary, and atop The Keg Yaletown in Vancouver, these nights were a chance for past recipients of the Micro-Budget Production Program to meet and thank the donors who made their dreams a reality.

Reception hosted
by Margaret Anne Fountain
in Halifax

Among the guests… Renee Laprise (Producer/Co-Director of The Lovely Witches Club), Margaret Anne Fountaine, Cathy Jones (This Hour Has 22 Minutes), Patti Larsen (Writer/Co-Director of The Lovely Witches Club), Stephanie Clattenburg (Writer/Director of Play Your Gender), Shelley Thompson (Writer/Director of Dawn).

The Ann McCaig’s Event

This fundraising event held in Calgary the night before the Calgary International Film Festival was a nice opportunity for friends of the Talent Fund and members of the local business community to meet with emerging and established talent. Donations can definitely make a positive and direct impact on supporting Canadian talent!

Here are some of the attendees:  Shaun Johnson (Heartland), Scott Westby (In plainview), Amber Marshall, producer Corey Loranger (Abigaëlle et le date coaching) , Valerie Creighton, Michael Phelps, Sandi and Jim Treliving.

A Vancouver’s film
industry celebration

Among the guests… Advisory Committee Members and Supporters: Margaret Anne Fountain, Ann McCaig, Michael E.J. Phelps, Jim and Sandi Treliving, David Aisenstat, John Bitove, Carol R. Hill, and James Villeneuve (Consul General of Canada Los Angeles) and Micro-Budget recipients: Amos Scott (Producer, The Sun at Midnight), Wayne Wapeemakwa (Writer/Director, Luk’Luk’i), April Johnson (Producer, Brother I Cry), Jessie Anthony (Writer/Director, Brother I Cry), Maureen Bradley (Producer, Two 4 One), Cera Ziegler (Producer, Fall Back Down), Katerine LaFrançois (Producer, Les Faux tatouages), Magali Gillon-Krizaj (Producer, The Cannon), Marshall Axani (Director, The Cannon), Allan Hopkins (Writer/Director/Producer, Indian Road Trip), Matt Drake (Producer, Luk’Luk’I), Spencer Hahn (Producer, Luk’Luk’I), and SB Edwards (Writer, Fall Back Down).